SAN ANGELO, TX - Often, we bring you devastating stories of children being left in hot cars. Our Senora Scott has more on just how big a problem it is in Texas.
So far this year 14 children have died across the nation due to heat stroke after being left in a hot car.
"And every minute it gets hotter and hotter,” Sgt. Justin Baker with the Texas Department of Public Safety said.
Half of those deaths, seven kids, were in Texas alone.
"It's a violation to leave a child younger than 7 years of age for longer than 5 minutes unless that individual is accompanied by an adult 14 years of age or older,” Sgt. Baker said.
Despite this state law, people still leave their children alone in the car. The best thing to do is always take your kids with you. Even if you have a remote start, you can't always rely on that.
"We strongly discourage that. Why? Because people can easily be distracted and next thing you know that timer runs out after 15 minutes,” Sgt. Baker said.
So just how hot can a car get and how quickly?
"Within just 10 minutes that temperature can increase 19 degrees and every 10 minutes after that you're gonna go up 19 degrees,” Sgt. Justin Baker said.
A tip from DPS; put reminders in the backseat with your child, like your phone or a briefcase to ensure you take them with you. Also if you ever see a child alone in a car, call 911.
© 2018 KIDY-TV