Breaking News
More () »

FOX West Texas Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Abilene and San Angelo, Texas | myfoxzone.com

Angelo State honors 2021 Outstanding Graduate Students

The students were nominated by faculty in their respective academic departments.
Credit: Angelo State University

SAN ANGELO, Texas — Angelo State University honored its 2021 Outstanding Graduate Students and recipients of four superlative awards at its annual Graduate Research Symposium and Awards Ceremony held April 26 at the Houston Harte University Center.

According to an ASU release, the honorees were nominated by faculty in their respective academic departments. Each student received a certificate of recognition.

Honorees are as follows:

Outstanding Graduate Students  for the College of Arts and Humanities

  • Jameson Crumpler of Bowie - intelligence and analysis
  • Amelia Daniels of Columbia, S.C. - global security studies
  • Sydney Morris of Ballinger - English
  • Ricardo Rosas of Mission -  criminal justice
  • Giovanna Scott of Robert Lee - communication

Norris-Vincent College of Business honorees:

  • Khanh Le Hoang Nguyen of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, - professional accountancy
  • Tracie Watkins of San Angelo - business administration

College of Education honorees:

  • Olga Angelo-Day of Leander - educational leadership
  • Lauren Discher of Galveston -student development and leadership in higher education
  • Jill Fox of Nevada - curriculum and instruction - advanced instructor
  • Lydia Irion of The Woodlands - guidance and counseling
  • Nicholas Manuszak of Jarrell, professional school counseling
  • Lee Snodgrass of Bridgeport, Conn. - educational administration

Archer College of Health and Human Service honorees:

  • Britt Cooper of Harrison, Mont. - coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration
  • Taylor Dutton of Wall - physical therapy
  • Gretchen Goldman of Amarillo - nurse educator
  • Jaimee Hall of Kerrville- applied psychology
  • Leslie Howell of Brownwood - family nurse practitioner
  • Kateri Oakley of Fort Worth - experimental psychology
  • Courtney Shields of Abilene - counseling psychology

College of Science and Engineering honorees:

  • Kalynn Hardegree of Colorado City - animal science
  • Kamren Jefferson of Upper Marlboro, Md. - biology

Additionally, winners of four superlative awards were selected from among the Outstanding Graduate Students by a separate committee, according to the release.

Superlative awards recipients:

  • Jameson Crumpler - Research Excellence
  • Taylor Dutton - Academic Excellence
  • Kalynn Hardegree - Community Service Excellence
  • Sydney Morris - Leadership Excellence

Graduate students who presented research posters during the Graduate Research Symposium were also recognized.