Breaking News
More () »

$30,000 scholarships awarded to three Abilene Christian University students

The awards were provided by the Sumner Foundation.
Credit: ACU

ABILENE, Texas — Three juniors from Abilene Christian University were awarded $30,000 each in scholarship funds, along with 40 other students nationwide. 

The 2022 ACU Sumner Scholars winners were Texas natives Emma Jaax, Hannah Maniscalo and Gracy McGarthy, whose respective majors are accounting and financial management, political science and journalism.

The Sumners Foundation is responsible for choosing scholarship winners based on academic excellence, civic engagement and a capacity for leadership, according to the university. 

The scholarships are only available for juniors and seniors, and the foundation's purpose is to encourage students to learn about self-government, democracy and diplomatic policies.

"Students at Abilene Christian University are dedicated to public service and making an impact in the world," Dr. Neal Coates, chairman of the ACU Department of Political Science and Criminal Justice, said. "We are thrilled that Emma, Hannah, and Gracyn join ACU students from previous years who are recognized as Sumner Scholars."

Previous scholarship winners include U.S. District Judge Fred Biery, Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan Hecht and chairman of Matador Resources Joseph Foran. 

The ACU winners are "following in the footsteps of Congressman Hatton W. Sumners," foundation chairman Jerry Reis said. 

Reis hopes this scholarship will encourage winners to remain active in modern politics and societal events.



Before You Leave, Check This Out