Breaking News
More () »

Abilene Independent School District students, graduates being honored for success

The College Board Advanced Placement Program is honoring multiple students.
Credit: Lexis Greene

ABILENE, Texas — Academic achievements are being celebrated by Abilene Independent School District students both current and former. 

Recent 2022 graduate Micah George is one of 14,000 students who received the AP Capstone Diploma from the College Board Advanced Placement Program, which requires a minimum score of 3 in AP Seminar, AP Research and four AP exams. This is the highest possible award. 

Students also need to earn at least a 3 in AP Seminar and AP Research in order to achieve the AP Seminar and Research Certificate which was earned by 9,200 people. 

The AP assessments place a specific emphasis on research projects and thoughtful collaboration skills. 

Multiple students from Abilene High School earned at least a 3.5 on each AP exam they took and at least a 3 on five exams or more for AP Scholars with Distinction honors. 

The students were Grant Bridge, Ethan Dunn, Victoria Gao, Harrison Smith, and Griffin Sullivan and four other students -Alejandro Mendez, Karissa Ward, and George- were received the AP Scholar and Honor award for an average AP exam score of 3.225 and at least a 3 on four of the exams. 

A number of students earned at least a 3.5 on at least three AP exams. Their names are Jayton Aston, Caelan Barbarick, Samuel Brooks, Molly Daugherity, Lily Etter, MaKalie Farmer, Dylan Fink, Nicklas Garcia, Brooke Garduno, Nathan Hammer, Emery Heflin, Brazos Lewis, Kyla Lindley, Noah Majowski, Koran Mason, Addison McCorquodale, Gabriel McCracken, Hailey McFadden, Molly Mercer, Dawson Mullins, Peter Nguyen, Jacob Pate, Chelsea Rainwater, Chloe Ramirez, Rolando Rivera, Brock Scoggin, Seungha Seo, Alexandra Shewmaker, Jenna Stevens, Dayna Thompson, Jett Voss, Macy Wallace, James Wellborn, Nathan Wilson, and Hallie Wright and they received the AP Scholar award. 

Before You Leave, Check This Out