Local roper Ty Harris has been named the 2018 Tie-down Roping Rookie of the Year by Resistol.

Harris won $62,752 in prize money in 2018 alone in his event.

A release from Resistol said, “First impressions are everything, particularly in professional rodeo. Rookies in each event spend the year working toward winning the PRCA | Resistol Rookie of the Year honors, but only the best claim the prize. Now that the 2018 standings have been audited by a third party and finalized, the 2018 PRCA | Resistol Rookies of the Year have been officially named.”

Other recipients on the list of 2018 rookies of the year include:

Tanner Green of Cotulla – 2018 All-Around Rookie of the Year;

Zach Hibler of Wheeler - Bareback Riding;

Brendan Laye of Consort, Alberta, Canada – Steer Wrestling;

Jeff Flennken of Caldwell, Ohio – Team Roping Heading;

Ross Ashford of Lott – Team Roping Heeling;

Dawson Hay of Wildwood, Alberta, Canada – Saddle Bronc Riding;

Chance Gasperson of Bridgeport - Steer Roping; and

Clayton Sellars of Fruitland Park, Fla. – Bull Riding.

In the release, Harris said, ““It was a big goal for me and something I worked for, for a long time.”

Harris attended the Resistol awards luncheon Tuesday in Las Vegas.