FOX West Texas Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Abilene and San Angelo, Texas | myfoxzone.com

NFL Honors | Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes wins MVP, Offensive Player of the Year

In just his first year as the Chiefs' starter, Mahomes rolled for 5,000-plus yards passing and 50 passing touchdowns.

ATLANTA — Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes was a runaway choice for NFL MVP and NFL Offensive Player of the Year on Saturday.

In just his second pro season (first as Kansas City's starter), Mahomes stunned the NFL world by becoming just the second quarterback in history (along with Peyton Manning) to hit 5,000 yards passing and 50 touchdowns in the same campaign.

Mahomes was a model of bedrock consistency this season, posting 10 games of 300-plus yards passing and 11 outings of three or more touchdown passes

From a win-loss perspective, the Texas Tech product guided Kansas City to the AFC West title and No. 1 seed for the AFC playoffs.

And from an absurdity standpoint, Mahomes enjoyed multiple games of six touchdown passes, with both outings taking place on the road (Pittsburgh, Los Angeles).

For the full list of NFL Honors winners, including Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and the Walter Payton/NFL Man of the Year, CLICK HERE.


2009 – QB Peyton Manning, Colts
2010 – QB Tom Brady, Patriots
2011 – QB Aaron Rodgers, Packers
2012 – RB Adrian Peterson, Vikings
2013 – QB Peyton Manning, Broncos
2014 – QB Aaron Rodgers, Packers
2015 – QB Cam Newton, Panthers
2016 – QB Matt Ryan, Falcons
2017 – QB Tom Brady, Patriots
2018 – QB Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs