SAN ANGELO, Texas — Angelo State University's cheer team has brought home its second consecutive United Spirit Association national title after competition in Anaheim, Calif.

The 22-member team won the national championship in the "4-Year College Large Co-Ed Show Cheer Division", beating out teams from Idaho State University, New Mexico State University, Ottawa University-Arizona and Wyoming University. The teams competed in preliminary and final rounds to determine the national title winner.

The championships were held Feb. 22-24 and featured teams from dozens of colleges and universities throughout the U.S. competing in a variety of divisions and categories, including show cheer, jazz and hip-hop routines, and mascot challenges.

According to a press release from ASU, because the size divisions are based on the number of males on a co-ed team, Angelo State competed against teams from much larger universities.

ASU Cheer Team members include:

  • Bailey Braddock of Quinlan
  • Camille Cardwell of Kerrville
  • Breonna Dean of Georgetown
  • Delaney Dominguez of Crane
  • McKeeley DuBose of Paradise
  • Erin Dyer of Brownwood
  • Crimson Fuentes of Crane
  • Aleya Garcia of San Angelo
  • Martin Garcia of Del Rio
  • Maxwell Garza of Abilene
  • Nicholas Griffin of Sherman
  • Katelan House of San Angelo
  • Alexia “Lexi” Jimenez of Haskell
  • Madisen Kent of Abilene
  • Jose Lopez of Strawn
  • Oscar Narvaez of Mertzon
  • Jasmine Perez of Princeton
  • Jordan Ramirez of Crane
  • Heather Reatherford of Breckenridge
  • Brook Roberts of Willow Park
  • Jackson “Jack” Robinson of Zephyr
  • Haley Yell of San Angelo

Shea-Lynn Hale of Westbrook also competed as ASU's mascot, “Roscoe.” The team is coached by Kaylee King and graduate assistant Sheila Corcino of Del Rio.